Welcome to my blog…musings for hope and healing

It’s hard to believe that summer is already over. I remember the first day of kindergarten for our son. His new school clothes, new shoes, book bag and school supplies. My anxiety was only surpassed by his excitement. He looked so small in the long line of kindergartners. As he looked back to us over his shoulder, his smile was a sign that he was ready and that everything would be okay.

This fall brings a new season to my life….my youngest children, twin daughters, have left for college. Much to everyone’s surprise, they chose to attend different colleges. As we drove away from the last campus, I felt overwhelmed with emotion. The car was very quiet and I felt helpless to protect them. At the same time, I was excited for each of them. They were each ready. They had chosen their college, decided how to decorate their dorm room, and packed their belongings. They are vibrant, talented and capable young women. Things will never be the same. I felt as I had the night before our daughter’s surgery….completely helpless. And yet, God’s words whispered to my soul…”I love her more than you can possibly comprehend. She is mine and I will take care of her.”

This year, our son packed his car and headed off to his junior year of college. As he left, he looked over his shoulder, smiled and said, love you mom. Our daughters smiled, gave me a hug for my benefit, and quickly moved back to their new friends. I am filled with pride and joy….and peace.

It is a new season. The leaves will soon turn rich colors and then fall to the ground. The clean white snow will cover the ground, and before we know it, spring will bring new growth.

Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it. Proverbs 22:6


Leave a Reply

